On Relevance

I have never wrote about social relevance, or of the concerns of imminent politics. In fact,the only reason I would ever be up to speed on popular affairs is because the ones close to me so happened to tell me of what politicians had to say on gay marriage today, or who died in Hollywood, or what school got shot up, or what adolescent girl got raped. I utterly do not care about the trifles of the day. What I am more concerned about in writing is observations or realizations I have made. Similarly, it can be said that I am a late bloomer, or late to the front, as in my own revelations everyone else has already came to terms with or accepted as self-evident. But this is beside the point. Some things need to be jotted down from time to time for later reflection, and this serves as a way to focus my thoughts. So as a consequence, I do not concern myself with relevance.

May it be of note that the raving about the icons of the herd should be actively avoided and loathed. The trivial daily gossip, and mediocre political squabbles add to nothing of importance and array our apparent herd-culture. Relevancy is of this same kind of herd-think. The jockeying around the public eye for attention is a concept that eludes me. Why would one crave the validation of the herd? There is an implication that the opinions of the many are somehow significant and hold substance, and not only that – for these opinions to be in one’s favor is laudable. Utter drivel. Moreover, in his book Mere Christianity, C.S. Lewis touches on this concept through his chapter on pride entitled The Great Sin. Lewis demonstrated contrary opinion, but the irony nonetheless is that his choice of words to describe diabolical pride contribute to this anti-herd-think individualism. In his own words,

Why should I care for the applause of that rabble as if their opinion were worth anything? And even if their opinions were of value, am I the sort of man to blush with pleasure at a compliment like some chit of a girl at her first dance? No, I am an integrated, adult personality. All I have done has been done to satisfy my own ideals-or my artistic conscience-or the traditions of my family- or, in a word, because I’m That Kind of Chap. If the mob like it, let them. They’re nothing to me.

What is more, there is a sort of hysteria within the general population in regard to politics and law-making. It’s amusing to witness the unsettlement of those, who, when hearing policies consisting of buzz words such as “abortion,” “gay rights,” “gun control,” or “rape” generally lose their minds. Interestingly, the bulk of politics usually has no affect on one’s day-to-day life at large. So what if gays cannot marry or the government wants to outlaw guns? I am not gay, nor do I own a gun. Besides, one needn’t the validation of the state to be recognized as a legitimate union, nor will the government seize my firearms, assuming I owned some. Furthermore, I have more pressing things to worry about. Political relevancy is largely tantamount to religious propositions, namely of the Christian sort in America – that is to say, and more to the heart of the matter, it is irrelevant. Let the herd be subjected to herd restraints.

I do not want to be relevant. In fact, I do not care about relative status whether it is in the Satanic underground or in the mainstream media. If any of my personal projects take fruition and gain a gathering, they should be viewed as being anti-relevant. Similarly, one will not find even a scant trace of originality within the scope of herd relevance. Within the margin of the group, relevance is assorted by identity, conformity, and mediocrity.

Consequently, genuine or unplugged thought is rarely found within so-called sects/clubs/cliques espousing individualism or free thought. They seem to suffer the same fallacy of validation as do their collective group counterparts, namely in their appeals to authority or their appeals to the rest of the group rather than offering anything substantial, radical, or thought challenging. Nay, they rest on the laurels of their superiors while having their egos stroked by the acceptance of their ideas from fellow individualists.

Finally then, what good could be said of relevance? As should be demonstrated by now, it must be clear that any original or unplugged thought is without relevance within the context of the group. That is to say, genuine thought is outside of herd-think. It is irrelevant. Only the lesser man, the common man, engrosses himself with the thoughts, opinions, and relevant status of the herd. Alternatively, the individual man, the greater man, engages himself with personal relevance derived from the subjective immediate. That is namely, the greater man concerns himself with the seeking relative to his own interests. The question arises: when one stays busy with personal pursuits and interests, how can he find the time (or drive) to subject himself to the petty thoughts or opinions of the many?

One thought on “On Relevance

Leave a Reply

